Monday 26 February 2018

How Zig zigzagged to Waterford

Ziggy the dog
Ziggy the dog
Denise Calnan

Denise Calnan

My name is Ziggy, but my friends call me Zig. I'm a Cocker Spaniel at the grand old age of 12. I was a particularly cute puppy and my orange roan coat still gets remarks on walks.

I still remember the very first time I met my humans. Santa delivered me to Waterford on his sleigh to meet my family: Frank, Tricia, James and Robert. Within minutes I knew I had struck it lucky.

My family are into the outdoors and have always treated me as their number one. James has just finished his third year of college in Cork. Robert has just completed his Leaving Cert so I've my paws crossed for August.

I'm a big fan of any beach and have visited several across Waterford and Cork.

My favourite hobbies include digging for stones on Woodstown Beach (and picking a special one for the day), running in the long grass by the river and chilling in the kitchen on my red throne. The kitchen is my kingdom and I love when people visit. I'm at my happiest when I'm relaxing with Tricia watching television or when I climb the stairs to join Tricia and Frank for breakfast at the weekends.

The stairs were a big no-no before but my humans have grown a bit soft with rules in recent years. Every summer, and the odd weekend in between, I head to Cork to stay with my auntie Margaret for my holidays.

This means chats over coffee in the kitchen in the mornings and walks every single day. I've one canine cousin, Ted. Denise and Enda got him as a puppy last summer.

He was a bit energetic for my liking in the beginning, but we've since sorted out our differences and I've let him know he's always welcome. I've shown him the ropes at the Warren Beach too.

I'm getting a bit old now and my hearing isn't what it used to be - but I'll admit I'm playing it up big time, especially when I'm in the middle of digging a particularly big hole.

Thanks again, Santa, for picking the best family a dog could ask for.

Name: Ziggy

Finest hour: Crying all night after Santa left me in the kitchen

Likes: Beaches, stones, hanging out with my family

Dislikes: When my ears get wet when I drink from my bowl

Sunday Independent

Promoted Links

Life Newsletter

Our digest of the week's juiciest lifestyle titbits.

Promoted Links

Editors Choice

Also in Life