Sunday 22 July 2018

Daisy loves the green grass of home

Daisy
Daisy

Shiela Murphy

My name is Daisy and I am a nine-year-old bichon frise. I went to live in my first home when I was a few weeks old and I settled in very nicely.

After one year my mammy became ill and passed away, so for the next seven years I was taken care of by my dad - but he then became ill, and I had to find a new home.

I thought I could take care of myself, so I decided to run away, but lucky for me I was found by two girls who put a post on Facebook saying 'found'. My super groomer Margaret saw the post and recognised me and contacted my family.

My dad's family decided I needed to be rehomed. Luckily for me, Margaret's friend Shiela was chosen for me, and I was relocated to live in Leixlip. My new home had no other pets, so I saw my opportunity to rule the roost. I got new bedding, bows for my collar and a selection of new coats from Tennessee. My favourite pastime is playing with a ball. When I want to play, or need exercise, I get the ball and head for the back door - demanding that my mam throw the ball and give me her undivided attention. I am very fussy about the type of ball - I will only play with a Slazenger tennis ball.

I like human food if I can get it, but when my mam is strict she insists I eat dry dog food for a balanced diet, so I have to give in reluctantly as she says dry dog food keeps my teeth clean and healthy. Occasionally my mam works away from home, so I have to go to my auntie Helen's for a sleepover and luckily for me that is another home away from home. I am taken for long walks every morning, so now I am familiar with the footpaths of Leixlip.

My preferred place to sleep is at the end of the bed wrapped up in my own comfy blanket, because I do need to feel comfortable, secure and pampered.

Every two months, I go to my super groomer for a shampoo and a pedicure. I get to stay overnight and sleep with her poodle Bo.

When I was a puppy, I gave Margaret a difficult time, often bringing tears of frustration to her eyes, but I do love her very much.

Shiela Murphy, Leixlip, Co Kildare

Name: Daisy

Finest hours: Having three loving homes

Likes: Fresh salmon

Dislikes: Cats and birds

* If you would like your pet featured in this column please send  a story of 440 words  and a photograph to  snews@independent.ie clearly labelled MY PET

Sunday Independent

Life Newsletter

Our digest of the week's juiciest lifestyle titbits.

Editors Choice

Also in Life