Sunday 25 March 2018

Charly's the darling of her owners

Charly the dog
Charly the dog

Sorcha Quinn

Hi! My name is Charly which is short for Charlotte before you start thinking I'm a boy!

I'm a West Highland terrier or Westie. I'm 18 months old and found my forever home after I was adopted. The family who got me as a puppy found themselves unable to look after me, so even though they loved me dearly, I couldn't stay.

While I was sad to leave my first family, I thrived in my new home and my new family love me a lot, even when I don't listen to what they tell me to do (which is a lot!).

But my main job is to patrol the house every day from the morning until the evening, but I manage to squeeze in lots of fun during the day.

I go on a walk every day with my Mum or Nana.

My favourite places to go are the beach and the Phoenix Park, because I love to bark at the deer and the Garda horses. Even though Mum says, "of all horses, don't bark at those horses". But I bark anyway.

My most favourite thing to do is to sit on the couch patrolling the area and barking at people who dare to walk near my property.

The postman and I have a love-hate relationship. I like that he delivers items that my humans order, but I think he shouldn't come so close to the door. The negotiations are ongoing.

I need lots of comfy places to sit when on breaks from patrolling, and Grandad's seat is the comfiest around. Unfortunately, I don't get a lot of time to sit in it, but recently I've discovered a way in.

I scratch the door pretending that I want to leave the living room. Then, when Grandad inevitably gets up to open the door for me, I circle back around him and hop into his chair.

Nana then tells Grandad to leave me in the chair and he sits somewhere else.

As the only dog, I run the house. When everyone goes to bed, I walk around the house doing one last patrol, then I trot up the stairs to Mum's room and jump into her bed.

I nose her in the shoulder to let her know I'm here and that she needs to lift the duvet to let me snuggle under.

I curl into a ball right beside my Mum after a long day of in-westigating.

Then, the next day, I get up and do the whole thing again.

It's a busy life being the only guard dog.

My humans don't know how lucky they are to have me, but I love them still.

Name: Charly

Finest hour: Chewing Nana's sandals to bits on my first night

Likes: Treats, bones, digging up the garden, begging for food at dinner

Dislikes: Strangers, dry dog food, being alone, rain and wind

- If you would like your pet to be featured in this column please send a story of 440 words and a photograph to clearly labelled MY PET

Sunday Independent

Life Newsletter

Our digest of the week's juiciest lifestyle titbits.

Editors Choice

Also in Life