Saturday 25 May 2019

Voting begins in presidential election today

Voters on five Donegal islands will go to the polls today to vote in the presidential election and the two constitutional referendums.

A total of 761 voters living on the islands of Arranmore, Tory, Gola, Inisfree and Inisboffin are registered to vote. All the islands are in the Donegal South West constituency.

Polling stations will be open from 11am to 3pm except on Arranmore, the largest of the islands, where the two polling stations will be open from 10.30am-7.30pm.

Voting will take place tomorrow on islands off the Mayo coast and on Wednesday for the inhabitants of Galway's Aran Islands.

Islanders traditionally vote ahead of the rest of the country in case bad weather hinders the return of ballot boxes.

Editor's Choice

Also in Irish News