| 4°C Dublin

Two TDs held on to seats after calls to resign

Just two sitting TDs have been subjected to motions of censure in the Dail in the past decade. Both retained their seats despite the urgings of their colleagues to resign.

1) The late Fianna Fail TD Liam Lawlor was subjected to a motion of censure in the Dail in February 2002 for his refusal to cooperate with the Planning Tribunal.

The Dublin West TD had to be released temporarily from Mountjoy prison -- where he was sent in response to his non-coperation -- to defend himself in the Dail.

There was unanimous agreement among all parties in the Dail -- including Fianna Fail -- for a motion calling on Mr Lawlor to resign his seat.

He was typically defiant and said that if there was non-compliance on his part, it was neither intentional, nor malicious.

Mr Lawlor clung on to his seat -- but he did not run again in the 2002 General Election. He was killed in a car crash in Moscow in 2005.

2) Independent TD Michael Lowry was subjected to a motion of censure in the Dail last year after the publication of the Moriarty Tribunal report.

The motion stated: "The Dail believes the conduct of Michael Lowry set out in the tribunal report was completely unacceptable, and calls on Deputy Lowry to resign voluntarily his membership of Dail Eireann."

But Mr Lowry told the Dail he would not quit even though the tribunal found he had engaged in a "cynical and venal abuse of office" during the awarding of the second mobile phone licence in 1996 while he was Communications Minister.

Mr Lowry continues to serve as an Independent TD for Tipperary North. Earlier this year, it was revealed that he had still managed to get meetings with Fine Gael ministers even after the publication of the Moriarty report.

Irish Independent