| 1.7°C Dublin

The write stuff: The An Post Book Awards shortlist is unveiled


Keelin Shanley

Keelin Shanley

Keelin Shanley

A POSTHUMOUS memoir penned by RTÉ's Keelin Shanley entitled A Light That Never Goes Out has been nominated for an award in the esteemed An Post Book Awards.

The prestigious literary event that celebrates the best in writing in 16 different categories has included the book in the 'Popular Non-Fiction Book of the Year' section.

The award-winning journalist and broadcaster, who died of breast cancer last February, wrote the acclaimed memoir in the months leading up to her death as she charted the events of her colourful life in a deeply personal manner.

Keelin's book was also selected by Miriam O'Callaghan for the RTÉ Radio 1 Listeners' Choice Award.

For the 'Irish Independent Crime Fiction Book of the Year', nominees include Liz Nugent for her book, Our Little Cruelties alongside Louise O'Neill for After the Silence.

Also shortlisted in this year's event are entries written by Graham Norton, Marian Keyes, Roz Purcell, Ross O'Carroll-Kelly, former President Mary McAleese and Patrick Freyne.

The virtual awards ceremony will take place on Wednesday, November 25 with a TV programme broadcast on RTÉ One on December 10 focusing on the overall category winners.

The event will also see the announcement of the winner of the 'An Post Irish Book of the Year 2020' as chosen by members of the public.

Daily Digest Newsletter

Get ahead of the day with the morning headlines at 7.30am and Fionnán Sheahan's exclusive take on the day's news every afternoon, with our free daily newsletter.

This field is required

Most Watched