Wednesday 22 November 2017

The winning ways of 'Irish Independent' journalists . . .

THE Irish Independent continues to lead the way in breaking news which sets the agenda, with journalists nominated in four categories for the first annual National Newspapers of Ireland (NNI) Journalism Awards.

The Irish Independent WikiLeaks team -- investigations editor Shane Phelan, security editor Tom Brady and former executive news editor Shane Doran -- have been nominated for NNI National Journalist of the Year.

Fiach Kelly has been nominated for the NNI Young Journalist of the Year Award, while Anne-Marie Walsh has been nominated as NNI Political Journalist of the Year. Martina Devlin has been shortlisted as NNI Columnist/Commentator of the Year. The winners will be revealed at an awards ceremony tomorrow.

The nominations follow a series of awards won by our journalists in the past two weeks. Irish Independent senior features writer Gemma O'Doherty won the consumer print prize at the GSK Irish Media Awards. Ms O'Doherty was praised for her "thoroughly researched work", especially an article headed: "Why yet another cancer 'miracle' really is a cause for hope this time".

That followed Irish Independent journalists Paul Melia and Treacy Hogan winning the National Media Award at the Road Safety Authority Leading Lights in Road Safety awards.

Irish Independent

Promoted Links

Today's news headlines, directly to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Irish News