Sunday 25 February 2018

'Super governors' take over top prisons

Tom Brady Security Editor

THREE new "super" governors have been appointed by the Prison Service.

They will take charge of eight jails under management structures created as a result of the Croke Park Agreement.

The moves will lead to financial savings through shared services and a reduction in the number of management teams.

Ned Whelan will take charge of the new Mountjoy campus, which will now also include St Patrick's Institution, the Dochas women's centre and the Training Unit.

Martin Mullen has been transferred from the Prison Service headquarters in Longford to run the Portlaoise campus, which will incorporate the Midlands Prison.

And Colm Barclay has been put in control of the West Dublin campus, incorporating Cloverhill and Wheatfield.

These become the most senior operational posts in the Prison Service. The campus governors will be key members of the overall management team.

Irish Independent

Promoted Links

Today's news headlines, directly to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Irish News