News Irish News

Saturday 20 January 2018

Some of the lads have a facial - rugby star Kearney at players' awards

Rob Kearney with Irish supporter Myrin Wouterse (13) from the Netherlands Photo: Damien Eagers
Rob Kearney with Irish supporter Myrin Wouterse (13) from the Netherlands Photo: Damien Eagers
CJ Stander with his wife Jean Marie Photo: Damien Eagers
Joe Schmidt with Irish players Sophie Spence, left, and Claire Keohane Photo: Damien Eagers
Elena Canavan from Drumcondra Photo: Damien Eagers
Ireland Sevens players Ashley Baxter, left, and Louise Gavin Photo: Damien Eagers

Sean O'Grady

They are known for their bravado and brawn but it seems Ireland's rugby stars are partial to a spot of beautifying too.

IRUPA chairman Rob Kearney - an investor in D2 beauty parlour Oslo - is confident the salon will be a hit with his fellow team-mates.

"I know a couple of the lads have had the odd facial or two in their time," he said at the Zurich IRUPA Rugby Players' Awards 2016.

"They are not overly keen to admit to any treatments."

One man who has already indulged in some of the salon's luxurious treatments is Brian O'Driscoll - not totally surprising, given his wife Amy Huberman is also an investor in the salon.

Over 800 guests attended the prestigious rugby awards in the Doubletree by Hilton on Burlington Road.

Coach Joe Schmidt, Fiona Coghlan, Mike Ross, Eoin Reddan, Dave Kearney, and Peter O'Mahony were among the guests at the black-tie event.

Munster's CJ Stander, who arrived sporting a black eye, was named the Zurich IRUPA Player of the Year 2016.

"I'm delighted to win this award. Receiving recognition from my fellow peers is the ultimate accolade," the South African-born Irish international told the crowd.

"I will remember this season fondly, from winning my first cap to scoring my first international try and ultimately winning this award."

Joining Ireland's rugby heroes in the BNY Mellon IRUPA Hall of Fame was former player Ronan O'Gara.

Leinster's Josh van der Flier picked up the Nevin Spence Young Player of the Year Award.

Volkswagen Try of the Year went to Jamie Heaslip for his performance in Ireland's clash against Italy in the RBS Six Nations.

The BNY Mellon Women's Fifteen Player of the Year was presented to Irish debutant Sene Naoupu for her outstanding performance.

The winner of the Women's Sevens Player of the Year 2016 was Amee Leigh Murphy-Crowe, who helped Ireland to qualify for the world series for the first time.

Respect Vodafone's Medal for Excellence went to Leinster's Isaac Boss. Former Leinster player Niall Breslin scooped the Contribution to Irish Society award in recognition of the massive impact he has made in raising awareness of mental health issues.

Liam Toland acted as MC on the evening.

Omar Hassanein, CEO of IRUPA, congratulated all of the award winners.

"All of the winners and nominees have the total respect of those who they play with and against."

Irish Independent

Promoted Links

Today's news headlines, directly to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Irish News