Sunday 16 December 2018

Seven towns up to speed at last with free wi-fi

Stock image: Deposit photos
Stock image: Deposit photos
Gareth Morgan

Gareth Morgan

Seven town centres are set to become free public wi-fi zones, thanks to a new initiative giving locals and tourists unlimited access to speeds of up to 100Mbs.

The ground-breaking scheme will see free high-speed broadband installed in Sligo, Westport, Monaghan, Knock and Carrick-On-Shannon town centres. Two further locations are set to be announced in Kerry and Donegal.

The scheme, which costs the local towns nothing, involves local businesses allowing Magnet Networks to install access points on their premises, providing seamless connectivity within the town centre.

Carrick-On-Shannon is the first of the six towns to go live this weekend with Sligo, Knock and Monaghan commencing in June and the remaining towns going live by August.

"The beauty of Magnet Networks' free wi-fi is that you only need to register once," said Magnet Networks CEO Mark Kellett. "So tourists coming to different towns along the Wild Atlantic Way, for example, will automatically enjoy free connectivity at no cost in a range of towns."

"Our aim is to extend this service throughout Ireland, and we are asking interested towns to get in touch though"

This initiative follows on from the success of the firm's public-private partnership in Galway - the first of its kind in Ireland.

Irish Independent

Editor's Choice

Also in Irish News