Monday 21 October 2019

Seven new judges named for the Court of Appeal

Stock photo
Stock photo
Shane Phelan

Shane Phelan

The Government has agreed to nominate seven new judges to the Court of Appeal - just days after being sharply criticised by the chief justice for failing to fill vacancies.

Four judges are to be elevated from the High Court, while three senior counsel have also been nominated.

The High Court judges now moving to the Court of Appeal are Mr Justice Seamus Noonan, Mr Justice Robert Haughton, Ms Justice Úna Ní Raifeartaigh and Ms Justice Mary Faherty.

The senior barristers nominated to the bench are Ann Power SC, Brian Murray SC and Maurice Collins SC.

All of the nominations will now go forward to President Michael D Higgins.

The nominations come just days after Chief Justice Frank Clarke hit out at the failure of the Government to make any nominations after legislation was signed into law in July to increase the size of the Court of Appeal from 10 judges to 16.

He predicted many scheduled cases would have to be delayed as a result.

Irish Independent

Editor's Choice

Also in Irish News