Thursday 23 November 2017

Schoolchildren get prestigious road safety awards

Treacy Hogan

ROAD safety awards were presented to 276 children from eleven primary schools at Croke Park in Dublin.

The  awards were given to children for their exceptional dedication to keeping themselves, their friends and their families safe on our roads.

Presenting the awards Public Transport Minister of State Alan Kelly praised the children for their efforts in keeping  roads safer.

Road Safety Authority chief executive Noel Brett said more than 55,000 school classes had taken part in the programme since 2004.

“I would also like to commend teachers throughout the country for the great work they do to educate our youngest road-users about road safety. “ he said.

First class from Glór na Mara National School in Tramore, Co Waterford took first prize in the 'Seatbelt Sheriff' competition for their poster 'Buckle 'Em Up, Around the World Sheriffs'.

Runners up in the  'Seatbelt Sheriff' competition were : Kayla Daley, Conor Horan and Fionn O'Sullivan, Ballyhea National School, Ballyhea, Charleville, Co Cork; 1st Class in Scoil Mocheallog, Kilmallock, Co Limerick; Samantha Luka, Scoil Mhuire, Lourdes, Tullow, Co Carlow; Aoibheann Mangan, Cloghan Hill National School, Cloghan Hill, Tuam, Co Galway; and 1st Class, Clocharince National School Moyvalley, Co Kildare

Students from 2nd Class in Clooney National School, Carrahan, Tulla, Co Clare took first prize in the 'Hi Glo Silver' competition for their poster,  'Hi Glo, Hi Glo, It's Off to School We Go.'

Runners up were: Elle O' Mahony, Scoil Mhuire, Meelick, Co Clare; Shauna McLaughlin, Scoil Iosagain, St Mary's Road, Buncrana, Co Donegal; 2nd Class in Ardfert National School, Ardfert, Tralee, Co Kerry; and Aoibheann Dalton, Paddock N.S, Paddock, Mountrath, Co Laois.

Online Editors

Promoted Links

Today's news headlines, directly to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Irish News