Friday 23 February 2018

Report recommends reduction in number of TDs to 158 reporters

THE CONSTITUENCY Commission has proposed new changes including a reduction in the number of TDs to 158 from 166 as well as changes to Dail boundaries.

It recommends that both Cork North Central and South Central become four-seat constituencies while Cork North West should have three.

Other changes are proposed for Sligo, Leitrim and Donegal.

Sligo and Leitrim, with some of south Donegal and west Cavan, should become a four-seat constituency called Sligo Leitrim while the rest of Donegal would become a single five-seat constituency under the proposals.

The remainder of Cavan would combine with Monaghan to create a four-seat area.

Dublin Bay North would become a new five-seat constituency along with four-seat Dublin Bay South.

Dublin North West would lose a seat, as would Dublin Central and Dublin South Central.

Other constituencies include Dublin Fingal with five seats, Dublin West with four, Dublin South West with five, Dublin Rathdown with three and Dun Laoghaire with four seats, under the plans

Dublin Mid West would be unchanged.

Promoted Links

Today's news headlines, directly to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Irish News