| 17.9°C Dublin

Only one TD attended all 101 Dáil sittings last year


Stock picture

Stock picture

Stock picture

Just one TD attended Leinster House on all days that the Dáil was in session last year, new figures from the Houses of the Oireachtas show.

Social Democrats co-leader Catherine Murphy was the only politician who was registered for all 101 days on which the Dáil sat in 2019.

It is possible that three other TDs - Fianna Fáil's Seán Haughey and Deasún Breathnach and Independent Tommy Broughan - also had full attendance on Dáil sitting days but their situation is unclear as records cease after they have logged 120 days attending Leinster House.


Three other deputies missed only one day - Fianna Fail TD Bobby Aylward, his former party colleague John Curran and former Labour TD Jan O'Sullivan.

The figures are compiled from the system that enables TDs and senators to register their attendance using a fob at one of six terminals located within the parliament building.

Members of the Oireachtas register their attendance in order to avail of expenses under the Travel and Accommodation Allowance (TAA), which costs taxpayers around €4m a year.

Elected representatives are required to clock in on a minimum of 120 sitting and non-sitting days to claim the maximum level of expenses last year.

Members must repay 1pc of the allowance for each day less than the required number attended, while they can also voluntarily choose not to accept the full allowance.

The attendance records of Taoiseach Leo Varadkar, as well as ministers and ministers of state and the Ceann Comhairle are not included in the data as they are not entitled to expenses under the TAA.

Irish Independent