Monday 20 November 2017

Leadership tracker: Where are the votes going as Leo and Simon do battle

Leo Varadkar and Simon Coveney. Photo: Collins Dublin
Leo Varadkar and Simon Coveney. Photo: Collins Dublin
Niall O'Connor

Niall O'Connor

ALTHOUGH the electoral college system will be used to ensure party members have a say, the Fine Gael leadership race will effectively be decided by the parliamentary party which is made up of TDs, senators and MEPs.

So who is backing Leo Varadkar and Simon Coveney - and who is sitting on the fence?

Varadkar (34 votes)

II LEO VA (17).jpg
Minister for Social Protection Leo Varadkar. Photo: Frank Mc Grath

Ministers: Paschal Donohoe , Heather Humphreys, Charlie Flanagan, Paul Kehoe, Richard Bruton, Mary Mitchell O’Connor, Eoghan Murphy, Sean Kyne, Joe McHugh and Helen McEntee

TDs: John Paul Phelan, Noel Rock, Alan Farrell, Michael D’Arcy, Josepha Madigan, Pat Deering, Jim Daly, Brendan Griffin, Ciaran Cannon, Colm Brophy, Peter Burke, John Deasy

Senators: Neale Richmond, Catherine Noone, Paddy Burke, Martin Conway, Michelle Mulherin, Maura Hopkins, Ray Butler, Frank Feighan, Maria Byrne

MEPs: Brian Hayes

Simon Coveney (18 votes)

13 NEWS ii housing (4).jpg
Housing Minister Simon Coveney. Photo: Mark Condren

Ministers: Simon Harris, Damien English, Dara Murphy, David Stanton, Marcella Corcoran Kennedy

TDs: Kate O’Connell, Maria Bailey, Peter Fitzpatrick

Who do you think should be the next leader of Fine Gael?

Senators: Tim Lombard, Jerry Buttimer, Paudie Coffey, James Reilly, Colm Burke, John O’Mahony, Paul Coghlan, Gabrielle McFadden

MEPs Deirdre Clune

Undecided/Not declared yet (22)

Note: Enda Kenny won’t make an endorsement

Party chairman Martin Heydon won’t make an endorsement

Ministers: Frances Fitzgerald, Michael Noonan, Michael Creed, Regina Doherty, Michael Ring, Patrick O’Donovan, Pat Breen, Catherine Byrne, Andrew Doyle.

TDs: Sean Barrett, Joe Carey, Bernard Durkan, Peter Fitzpatrick,Tony McLoughlin, Tom Neville, Hildegard Naughton

Senators: Joe O’Reilly, Kieran O’Donnell

MEPS: Sean Kelly and Mairead McGuinness

Fine Gael parliamentary party endorsements for leader

The Fine Gael parliamentary party makes up 65pc of the total electorate.

That makes each of the 73 members' votes worth 0.9pc of the total ballot.

Of the remaining electorate, 230 party councillors account for 10pc, while the remaining 25pc is rank and file members.

Leo Varadkar
Simon Coveney

Total: 45

Total: 19

Ministers: 17

Ministers: 5

TDs: 16

TDs: 5

Senators: 11

Senators: 8

MEPs: 1

MEPs: 1

Richard Bruton -MinisterSimon Harris - Minister
Frances Fitzgerald - MinisterDamien English - Minister
Michael Ring - MinisterDara Murphy - Minister
Eoghan Murphy - MinisterDavid Stanton - Minister
Sean Kyne - MinisterMarcella Corcoran Kennedy - Minister
Joe McHugh - MinisterKate O'Connell - TD
Helen McEntee - MinisterMaria Bailey - TD
Charlie Flanagan - MinisterSean Barrett TD
Paul Kehoe -MinisterHildegard Naughton - TD
Patrick O'Donovan - MinisterPeter Fitzpatrick - TD
Regina Doherty - MinisterTim Lombard - Senator
Mary Mitchell O'Connor - MinisterJerry Buttimer - Senator
Paschal Donohoe - MinisterPaudie Coffey - Senator
Heather Humphreys - MinisterJames Reilly - Senator
Pat Breen - MinisterColm Burke - Senator
Catherine Byrne - MinisterJohn O'Mahony - Senator
Andrew Doyle - MinisterPaul Coghlan - Senator
John Paul Phelan - TDGabrielle McFadden - Senator
Noel Rock - TDDeirdre Clune - MEP
Tony McLoughlin - TD 
Alan Farrell - TD 
Michael D'Arcy - TD 
Tom Neville - TD 
Josepha Madigan - TD 
Pat Deering - TD 
Jim Daly - TD 
Brendan Griffin - TD 
Ciaran Cannon - TD 
Colm Brophy - TD 
Peter Burke - TD 
Fergus O'Dowd - TD 
John Deasy - TD 
Joe Carey - TD 
Neale Richmond - Senator 
Catherine Noone - Senator 
Paddy Burke - Senator 
Martin Conway - Senator 
Michelle Mulherin - Senator 
Maura Hopkins - Senator 
Ray Butler - Senator 
Frank Feighan - Senator 
Maria Byrne - Senator 
Joe O'Reilly - Senator 
Kieran O'Donnell - Senator 
Brian Hayes - MEP 
Enda Kenny - Outgoing Party Leader *Martin Heydon - Party Chairman *
Michael Noonan - MinisterMichael Creed - Minister
Bernard Durkan - TDSean Kelly - MEP
Mairead McGuinness MEP  

* Outgoing leader Enda Kenny and party chairman Martin Heydon will not make an endorsement

Online Editors

Promoted Links

Today's news headlines, directly to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Also in this section