| 3.1°C Dublin

Fine Gael selects sitting TDs to stand in Kerry


Chosen: Jimmy Deenihan

Chosen: Jimmy Deenihan

Chosen: Jimmy Deenihan

Fine Gael has selected its two sitting TDs in Co Kerry as the party's candidates in the constituency for the next general election.

Diaspora Minister Jimmy Deenihan and TD Brendan Griffin were chosen by delegates at the selection convention in Killarney last night.

Up to 400 party members packed into the town's Malton Hotel for the selection.

Kerry is losing a TD as Kerry North - West Limerick and Kerry South amalgamate into one constituency with five TDs.

With one sitting deputy set to lose, the election is expected to be hard fought.

The two outgoing TDs are strategically located in the northern and southern sides of the constituency.

It is understood it will be up to the Fine Gael National Election Strategy Committee, chaired by Justice Minister Frances Fitzgerald, whether to run a third candidate.

Fianna Fáil has also chosen two candidates in Kerry - current county council chairman John Brassil and councillor Norma Moriarty.

Irish Independent