Saturday 21 April 2018

Fianna Fail split on Limerick council

A MAJOR split has emerged among Fianna Fail members on the new 40-seat Limerick City and County Council.

Less than a week after becoming the largest party on the council, Fianna Fail has lost four of its 13 councillors, who have described themselves as "Independent Fianna Fail".

The split emerged after Cllr Eddie Ryan lost out on becoming leader of the party and long-serving councillor Kieran O'Hanlon failed in his bid for the position of deputy leader. In response, the two men, plus councillors Kevin Sheahan and Joe Crowley, said they would break away from FF.

Cousins Michael Collins and James Collins were elected as the FF leader and deputy leader.

Irish Independent

Today's news headlines, directly to your inbox every morning.

Also in this section