Saturday 17 March 2018

Committee jobs to be consolation for those TDs who missed out

Leinster House (Stock picture)
Leinster House (Stock picture)
Cormac McQuinn

Cormac McQuinn

Taoiseach Leo Varadkar's promotion of three TDs to the ranks of junior ministers has left chairperson vacancies to fill on Oireachtas committees.

The jobs may offer some consolation for Fine Gael TDs who missed out on ministerial jobs. The committee chairpersons jobs are allocated using the proportional D'Hondt system, meaning the vacancies must be filled by Fine Gael TDs.

The committees involved are Budgetary Oversight, Children and Youth Affairs, and Transport Tourism and Sport due to the promotions of John Paul Phelan, Jim Daly and Brendan Griffin.

A number of Fine Gael TDs already sit on these committees, including Colm Brophy and Tom Neville, and they may be in line to get the nod.

First-time TDs including Josepha Madigan and Noel Rock - who backed Mr Varadkar in the leadership race - could also be placed on the committees to assume the roles, which can involve considerable extra workload.

The roles come with a yearly allowance of €9,120 on top of a TD's salary of €89,965.

Irish Independent

Today's news headlines, directly to your inbox every morning.

Also in this section