Thursday 22 February 2018

City council votes to repeat 15pc property tax cut

Dublin city councillors voted against the advice of Owen Keegan
Dublin city councillors voted against the advice of Owen Keegan Newsdesk Newsdesk

Dublin city councillors voted to reduce property tax by 15pc again, against the recommendation of chief executive Owen Keegan.

Councillors voted last year to cut the 2015 rate of property tax for householders by the maximum 15pc.

The repeat decision means homeowners in the city will pay the same rates of property tax in 2016 as applied this year.

Mr Keegan had recommended against the cut, which would have resulted in an increased bill for city homeowners of €77.5m.

However, following heated debate at a special council meeting last night, an overwhelming majority of councillors (47) voted in favour of a motion to see the tax reduced again.

Twelve voted against, and there was one abstention, by Workers Party councillor Eilis Ryan.

Labour Party members had proposed that the basic rate of local property tax should be varied downward by 7.5pc.

But members of Fine Gael, Fianna Fáil, Sinn Féin and People Before Profit were among those backing the 15pc reduction for next year.

Irish Independent

Promoted Links

Today's news headlines, directly to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Also in this section