Wednesday 22 November 2017

Answers to one political poll that really matters

The solutions to last week's big quiz

1. The Marker

2. The O'Donovan Rossa Cumann

3. He will become the longest serving Fine Gael Taoiseach ever, taking over from John A Costello. WT Cosgrave served longer but he was leader of Cumann na nGaedheal and never held the title of Taoiseach - he was president of the executive council.

4. Two - James Reilly and Alex White

5. Shane Ross.

6. Katherine Zappone.

7. Eleven - Fine Gael, Fianna Fail, Sinn Fein, Labour, AAA-PBP, Independent Alliance, Independents 4 Change, Rural Alliance, Social Democrats, Green Party, Workers & Unemployed Action Group.

8. Four.

9. 59 votes in favour of Kenny, 49 against.

10. Noel Rock

11. Alan Kelly.

12. Michael Healy-Rae.

13. Stephen Donnelly.

14. 35 women.

15. Eight - Thomas Byrne, John Curran, Michael D'Arcy, Pat 'the Cope' Gallagher, Sean Haughey, Darragh O'Brien, Eamon Ryan, Eamon Scanlon.

16. Maureen O'Sullivan with 1,990 votes.

17. Jennifer Murnane-O'Connor in Carlow -Kilkenny with 8,373 votes.

18. Peter Burke and Willie Penrose in Longford-Westmeath.

19. Shane Cassells.

20. Kerry.

21. Twenty - Michael Healy-Rae, Danny Healy-Rae, Charlie Flanagan, Helen McEntee, James Browne, Dara Calleary, Simon Coveney, Barry Cowen, John Deasy, Sean Haughey, Enda Kenny, Marc MacSharry, Tom Neville, Kevin O'Keeffe, Sean Sherlock, Andrias Moynihan, Denis Naughten, Michael D'Arcy, Michael Creed and Joe Carey.

22. Fergus and Michael O'Dowd.

23. Peter Fitzpatrick, former Louth Manager and senator John O'Mahony, former manager of Galway, Mayo and Leitrim.

24. Three - Michael McDowell; James Reilly and, in his capacity as a Super Junior Minister, Ged Nash.

25. Five - Victor Boyhan, Mary Mitchell O'Connor, Ciaran Cannon, Noel Grealish, Michael McDowell.

26. Jack Chambers, aged 25 when he was elected.

27. Michael Noonan, who is aged 73.

28. Three - in 2012, 2013 and 2016.

29. 52 in total.

30. Six - Simon Harris, Helen McEntee, Noel Rock, Jack Chambers, Donnchadh O Laoghaire, Lisa Chambers.

31. He is the first to be elected by secret ballot.

32. Junior minister John Halligan.

33. Super Junior Minister Finian McGrath.

34. Mr Justice Iarfhlaith O'Neill.

35. Kevin 'Boxer' Moran and Alan Kelly.

36. Patrick Feeney, Galway West 22 votes.

37. Michael Noonan, Richard Bruton and Shane Ross.

38. Dublin North-West.

39. Simon Harris.

40. Ms Justice Mary Laffoy and 100, including Laffoy.

41. Margrethe Vestager.

42. Four - John Quincy Adams, Rutherford Hayes, Benjamin Harrison and George W Bush.

43. John F Kennedy in 1960.

44. Dancing Queen.

45. Lambeth with 78.6pc voting to stay.

46. Boston in Lincolnshire, with 75.6pc voting for Brexit.

47. One - Angela Merkel. Matteo Renzi and David Cameron have resigned; Barack Obama stands down this month and Francois Hollande has announced he will not contest the French Presidential election.

48. Francois Fillon.

49. Benito Mussolini.

50. David Cameron in his speech announcing his resignation, following the Brexit result.

Sunday Independent

Promoted Links

Today's news headlines, directly to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Also in this section