Tuesday 20 March 2018

Permanent TSB identifies the 19 branches set for closure

Charlie Weston Personal Finance Editor

DUBLIN and Cork are to lose four Permanent TSB bank branches each, while three branches in Tipperary will close by the end of this year.

In the capital, branches are to go in Lucan, Blanchardstown village and Sutton, as well as Henry St in the city centre.

In addition, it has been revealed that the bank's outlets at Northside Shopping Centre and Tyrrelstown will become self-service locations, which means there will be no staff in them.

A self-service branch allows customers to make lodgments electronically, but there are no tellers.

The St Stephen's Green branch will close next year, but the bank said it would expand its Grafton Street operation to turn it into a "flagship Dublin city centre site".

The closure of a total of 19 branches is part of a cost-cutting programme that will result in up to 250 staff being laid off.

The bank has already cut 530 staff over the last two years.

There are currently 92 branches. A spokesman for the bank said branch staff in the outlets that are closing have been told about the closures

The Enniscorthy branch in Wexford is going, as are Cork's Lapps Quay, Youghal, Cobh and Mayfield. In Kildare, the Athy branch is closing, while Tipperary will no longer have a Permanent TSB branch in Thurles, Tipperary Town and Roscrea.

Also set to disappear are the outlets in Arundel Square in Waterford, Donegal Town and Westport, Co Mayo.

Irish Independent

Today's news headlines, directly to your inbox every morning.

Editor's Choice

Also in Irish News