Saturday 25 November 2017

President Michael D Higgins releases text of first new poem since election

President Michael D Higgins
President Michael D Higgins Newsdesk Newsdesk

The full text of a new poem by President Michael D Higgins has been released.

The politician has published a number of works of poetry prior to his election to office as Irish president in 2011.

However, The Prophets are Weeping will be the first piece of poetry that the 74-year-old will have released publically since then.

Mr Higgins was working on the poem for some time but finalised it in October last year, with the ode appearing on his official Christmas card in December.

It is understood that Mr Higgins was influenced by the mass flight of people in Iraq and Syria amid ongoing conflict.

The last book of poetry published and released by President Higgins was New and Selected Poems in 2011.

He has also written and compiled poetry in The Betrayal (1990), The Season of Fire (1993), and An Arid Season (2004)


The Prophets are Weeping:

To those on the road it is reported that

The Prophets are weeping,

At the abuse

Of their words,

Scattered to sow an evil seed.


Rumour has it that,

The prophets are weeping.

At their texts distorted,    

The death and destruction,

Imposed in their name.


The sun burns down,

On the children who are crying,

On the long journeys repeated,

Their questions not answered.

Mothers and Fathers hide their faces,


Unable to explain,

Why they must endlessly,

No end in sight,

Move for shelter,

for food, for safety, for hope.


The Prophets are weeping,

For the words that have been stolen,

From texts that once offered,

To reveal in ancient times,

A shared space,

Of love and care,

Above all for the stranger. 

Online Editors

Promoted Links

Today's news headlines, directly to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Irish News