News Irish News

Monday 22 January 2018

New heads of courts appointed

NEW heads of the Circuit Court and the District Court were appointed by the Government yesterday.

Judge Raymond Groarke was selected as President of the Circuit Court and Judge Rosemary Horgan as President of the District Court.

Judge Groarke serves as a judge on the Western Circuit. Judge Horgan was appointed a district court judge in May 2011.

President Michael D Higgins will formally appoint the two judges in the coming weeks and he will be notified of the nominations under the rules set out in the Constitution.

The new presidents will serve a seven-year term. The vacancies arise as the terms of office of the serving presidents, Judge Matthew Deery and Judge Miriam Malone, ran out yesterday.

Irish Independent

Promoted Links

Today's news headlines, directly to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Irish News