Tuesday 13 November 2018

Music awards voting eased as star acts nominated

Alan O'Keeffe

A NEW voting system for Ireland's music awards will make it easier for the public to vote for their favourite acts.

The 2004 Meteor Ireland Music Awards will take place at The Point Theatre in Dublin on March 1. The event, now in its fourth year, will be hosted by comedian Dara O'Briain and televised by RTE.

The shortlists of nominees in 16 categories were announced yesterday.

The new voting system will make it easier for fans to vote for their favourite radio DJs, artists and bands.

The public will be invited to vote for a shortlist of nominees in eight categories, compiled from the votes cast by a host of Irish music industry representatives and music journalists.

Music fans can vote for their favourite artist or band by texting the keyword VOTE to 53500. All text votes will cost no more than 60c across all three Irish networks.

All voters will be entered into a competition to win VIP tickets to the awards and a 10-day holiday in Las Vegas.

The winners of eight other categories will be selected by a panel of judges from within the music industry.

The Corrs are to perform at the event along with a number of other acts who are yet to be confirmed.

The eight categories open to public voting are:

Best Irish DJ: Ian Dempsey, Donal Dineen, Tom Dunne, Dave Fanning, John Kelly, and Ryan Tubridy.

Best Irish Band: Bell X1, The Frames, Future Kings Of Spain, The Thrills, Snow Patrol, and The Tycho Brahe.

Best Irish Pop Act: Simon Casey, D-Side, Hazel Kaneswaren, Ronan Keating, and Westlife.

Best Irish Album: Living - Paddy Casey; Music In Mouth - BellX1; Seize the Day - Damien Dempsey; Set List - The Frames; So Much For The City - The Thrills; and Square One - David Kitt.

Best International Female: Beyonce, Britney Spears, Dido, Kylie Minogue, Erin McKeown, and Missy Elliot.

Best International Male: David Bowie, Nick Cave, Justin Hawkins, Josh Ritter, Justin Timberlake, and Robbie Williams.

Best International Group: Black Eyed Peas, Kings of Leon, Outkast, The Darkness, Strokes, and White Stripes.

Best Live Performance: David Bowie, Coldplay, Red Hot Chili Peppers, Rolling Stones, Bruce Springsteen, and Justin Timberlake.

The following categories will not be decided by public vote but will be decided by a panel of judges:

Best Irish Female Singer: Moya Brennan, Cara Dillon, Carol Keogh, Roisin Murphy, and Sinead O'Connor.

Best Irish Male Singer: Paddy Casey, Damien Dempsey, Glen Hansard, Micky Joe Harte, and David Kitt.

Best Folk/Traditional Act: Damien Dempsey, Cara Dillon, Kila, Lunasa, and Sharon Shannon.

Best Irish Country/Roots Artist: Daniel O'Donnell, Frankie Lane, Damien Dempsey, Declan Nerney, and Finbarr Furey.

Best Irish New Act: D'Side, Woodstar, Future Kings Of Spain, Laura Isibor, Roesy, and Simple Kid.

Best International Album: Elephant - White Stripes; Hail to the Thief - Radiohead; Kings of Leon - Youth and Young Manhood; Permission To Land - The Darkness; Speakerboxxx The Love Below - Outkast and Think Tank - Blur.

1,000 tickets for the awards priced ?30, including booking fee, will go on sale on Friday, January 23, at 8 am through Ticketmaster and the usual outlets nationwide.

Editor's Choice

Also in Irish News