| 2.2°C Dublin

Micheal Martin elected new leader of Fianna Fail

Former foreign affairs minister Micheal Martin has been elected as the new and eighth leader of Fianna Fail.

The Cork TD was the front-runner in the race after Taoiseach Brian Cowen revealed his intention to stand down.

Finance Minister Brian Lenihan, Social Protection and Defence Minister Eamon O Cuiv, and Tourism Minister Mary Hanafin also put themselves forward in the contest.

The leadership battle was decided by a secret ballot, using proportional representation.

In the first count, Mr Martin received 33 votes, Mr O Cuiv received 15, Mr Lenihan got 14 and Ms Hanafin was eliminated with 10 votes.

After transfers in the second count, Mr O Cuiv and Mr Lenihan were on 18 votes each and Mr Martin 36 votes.

On the final count, Mr O Cuiv was on 22 votes and Mr Martin won with 50 votes.

Taoiseach Brian Cowen addressed the meeting at the beginning for around 10 minutes.

PA Media