Monday 21 October 2019

Mandela, Clinton and Geldof among the former winners

Ralph Riegel

THE Tipperary Peace Prize ranks as Ireland's outstanding award for humanitarian work.

The award scheme was founded in 1984 and has been given to some of the world's leading politicians, civil rights campaigners and charity workers.

The decision to found a peace prize was sparked when a group of locals realised that the World War I song 'It's a Long Way to Tipperary', written by Jack Judge, meant that Tipperary was internationally associated with conflict.

For the past 28 years, the Tipperary Peace Convention has worked to honour those who devote their lives to ending conflict and promoting human rights.

The 2011 recipients were President Mary McAleese and her husband Martin

McAleese, for their outstanding work to promote peace and reconciliation in Northern Ireland.

Other award winners over the years have included former US president Bill Clinton, former South-African president Nelson Mandela, Live Aid founder Bob Geldof, former Pakistani president Benazir Bhutto, former Soviet leader Mikhail Gorbachev, the late Senator Edward Kennedy, former New York mayor Rudy Giuliani and Afghan human rights campaigner Dr Sima Samar.

The inaugural recipient of the award was the late Sean McBride.

Irish Independent

Editor's Choice

Also in Irish News