News Irish News

Monday 15 October 2018

Local authorities dump out-of-date titles under Act

Kathy Donaghy

OVER 100 years of civic bureaucracy will be wiped away on January 1 when local authorities will change their names to more customer friendly titles.

Under the Local Government Act, 2001, 87 local authorities around the country will change their names.

The changes will require local authorities to update all their literature with the new names.

From New Year's Day the Corporations of Dublin, Cork, Limerick, Galway and Waterford will be known as City Councils.

County Councils will retain their names except for Tipperary North Riding County Council and Tipperary South Riding County Council.

They will become North Tipperary and South Tipperary County Councils, according to the Department of the Environment.

The Borough Corporations of Clonmel, Drogheda, Kilkenny, Sligo and Waterford will be forever known as Borough Councils from January 1.

The State's 49 Urban District Councils will be known as Town Councils.

A spokesman for the Department of the Environment said the changes brought in under the Act were to modify and simplify local Government names with more user friendly language. Along with the changes in council names the legal name of City Manager and Town Clerk will become just City Manager.

"What we are doing is brushing away a 100 year-old system. We are getting rid of titles and names of councils and posts which have gone out of date. All the local authorities have been informed. They have been noticed since the Bill was published in May and they will have to make the necessary changes," the Department spokesman added.

Editor's Choice

Also in Irish News