Tuesday 12 November 2019

Irish Independent team judged the best journalists

THE most prestigious prize in Irish journalism has been won by the Irish Independent.

Our presidential election team of Fionnan Sheahan, Fiach Kelly, Michael Brennan and Cormac McQuinn scooped the National Journalist of the Year award at this year's National Newspapers of Ireland Awards.

The accolade was given for the team's exclusive reporting of key issues concerning the presidential candidates which effectively changed the course of the election.

Another major prize for Newspapers in Education was awarded to the Irish Independent for its two-part supplement on the anniversary of the sinking of the Titanic.

The supplement was edited and written by Ciaran Byrne, with Paul Melia and Ronan Abayawickrema, and designed by Valerie Vetter.

Irish Independent

Editor's Choice

Also in Irish News