Tuesday 11 December 2018

Independent.ie's Jason Kennedy awarded Journalist of the Year at GALAS

Independent.ie's Jason Kennedy won Journalist of the Year at the 8th annual GALAS
Independent.ie's Jason Kennedy won Journalist of the Year at the 8th annual GALAS
Denise Calnan

Denise Calnan

Independent.ie's Jason Kennedy won Journalist of the Year at the 8th annual GALAS, Ireland's LGBT+ awards.

Jason (28), from Borrisokane, Co Tipperary, was short-listed for the award alongside Una Mullally, Lyra McKee and Peter McGuire.

Jason was awarded funding through the Simon Cumbers Award earlier this year and will travel to Mozambique in February to report on LGBT lives in the east African country since decriminalisation in 2015, and whether the community looks to Ireland as an example for social change.

The National LGBT Federation & Gay Community News held the awards in Dublin’s Mansion House last night.

The GALAS were set up by Gay Community News and the National LGBT Federation (NXF) to honour LGBT+ people and organisations for their contributions to Irish society.

The awards are also to honour politicians, employers and others who are committed to advancing equality and social acceptance for LGBT+ people in Ireland.

Children's Minister Katherine Zappone was awarded Political Figure of the Year, while her late wife Ann Louise Gilligan was posthumously awarded Lifetime Achievement Winner.

Minister Zappone paid an emotional tribute to her wife Ann, and said she was now "passing the baton on to the next generation of activists."

Cork City Inter-agency Group won the LGBT Ally Award, while the Acting Out Group's The Ref and The Paradise was awarded the Irish Art and Literature Award.

Other winners include John Butler who won the Irish TV/Film Award for 'Handsome Devil', pop star XNTHONY who was awarded Irish Entertainment Personality of the Year, and Broden Giambrome who won Person of the Year.

Tunisa's Bouhdid Belhedi won the International Award, while the winner of the Noel Walsh HIV Activism Award was KnowNow, who provide rapid HIV testing in Dublin, Cork and Limerick. Belfast Pride won Event of the Year, while the GMHS Sexual Health App Campaign won the Online Award.

The winner of the Sports Award is Cameron Keighron, while Employer of the Year was Dublin City Council and the LGBT Student Award went to Síona Cahill.

Sharon Nolan was awarded Volunteer of the Year, while Cork's LINC Women was the winner of the Community Organisation of the year.

Finally, the winner for the Voluntary Organisation of the Year is LOOK (Loving Our Out Kids).

Online Editors

Editor's Choice

Also in Irish News