Tuesday 20 November 2018

Independent business writer wins media prize

Nicola Anderson

Nicola Anderson

IRISH Independent journalist Bill Tyson has been awarded Business Journalist of the Year at the ESB National Media Awards.

Bill was praised for his excellent portfolio of hard-hitting pieces relating to personal finances and in particular, for his exposure of over-pricing by financial institutions.

Journalist of the Year is Conor O'Clery, the Irish Times' North American Editor, who took the award for his coverage of the events of September 11.

A total of 11 journalists from television, radio and print were honoured and for the first time this year, many of the awards combined the three media into a single category.

In other categories, the Young Journalist of Year went to Carl O'Brien of the Irish Examiner; Feature Writer of the Year is Susan McKay of the Sunday Tribune; the award for Broadcasting Feature of the Year went to Adrian McCarthy of RTE and Sports Journalist of the Year is Bill O'Herlihy of RTE.

Specialist Writer of the Year is Fergal Bowers of irishhealth.com/Sunday Independent.

Each of the winners received a specially commissioned piece of sculpture and a cheque for ?1,500.

Editor's Choice

Also in Irish News