| 14.4°C Dublin

How they voted

Against – 88 TDs: Fine Gael 60, Labour Party 26, Independent 2 (Colm Keaveney, outside Labour whip, and Michael Lowry)

For – 45 TDs: Fianna Fail 15, Sinn Fein 13, Independents 17 (including TDs Shane Ross, a Dublin South constituency colleague of Mr Shatter, and Tommy Broughan, Patrick Nulty and Roisin Shortall, outside Labour whip)

Irish Independent