Sunday 19 November 2017

How numbers stack up

THE Government has a majority of 84 votes to the opposition's 78, with three seats currently unfilled. Included in the Government's side are four Fianna Fail TDs who have lost the party whip but who can still be relied on to support Taoiseach Brian Cowen.

They are Donegal North East TD Jim McDaid, Sligo North/Leitrim TDs Eamon Scanlon and Jimmy Devins and Tipperary South TD Mattie McGrath.

It does not include Ceann Comhairle Seamus Kirk, who is an FF TD, but only uses his casting vote in favour of the Government in the event of a tie.


  • 74 Fianna Fail TDs
  • Six Green Party TDs
  • Two former PD TDs (Mary Harney and Noel Grealish)
  • Two independents (Michael Lowry and Jackie Healy-Rae)

Total: 84


  • 51 Fine Gael TDs
  • 20 Labour TDs
  • Four Sinn Fein TDs
  • Three independents (Finian McGrath, Maureen O'Sullivan and Joe Behan)

Total: 78

Irish Independent

Promoted Links

Today's news headlines, directly to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Irish News