Tuesday 23 January 2018

Revealed: Fourteen new primary healthcare centres to be built as part of €70m investment

Stock photo
Stock photo

Eilish O’Regan

Fourteen new primary care centres are to be built across Ireland following agreement of a €70m loan spanning 25 years from the European Investment Bank.

This represents its first support for healthcare investment in Ireland and the first dedicated backing for primary health care anywhere in Europe.

Each of the new facilities will include accommodation for primary care team services which include a GP and practice nurse, community nursing services, occupational therapy, physiotherapy and home help/support staff.

In addition a number of the centres will provide dental, mental health, early intervention and doctor on call services to the local communities

The new public private partnerhship (PPP) scheme is aimed at shifting some of the burden from hospitals  to healthcare in the community.

The centres are to be built in the west of Ireland in Sligo, Roscommon, Mayo, Galway and Limerick City; in Waterford City, Tipperary and Wexford Town in the south-east; as well as Kildare and Dublin north City in the east.

The project is being being delivered by the consortium comprised of Prime, Balfour Beatty and its investors Prime UK Holdings Ltd and HICL Infrastructure Company Ltd.

In May 2015, the consortium was announced as the preferred tenderer for the 25-year PPP (design, build, finance and maintain) contract.

Health Minister Simon Harris said:”One of my priorities will be to implement a decisive shift of the health service to primary care, with the delivery of primary care in every community.

“I am hoping to develop a 10-year plan for the health service with cross-party support.  The initiative will be based on consultation with all political parties and stakeholders, including frontline staff.”

Brian Murphy, Director of the National Development Finance Agency (NDFA) said: “This is an innovative PPP project addressing vital health infrastructure needs in Ireland and will provide 14 communities with new facilities including a range of primary healthcare facilities in addition to social services with the objective of facilitating a shift towards community based care across the country.”

The international law firm Eversheds, which has offices in Earlsfort Terrace in Dublin was the legal adviser to the National Development Finance Agency on the partnership deal.

The 14 centres will be based in the following regions:

HSE West     

Ballymote, Co. Sligo

Boyle, Co. Roscommon

Claremorris, Co. Mayo

Westport, Co. Mayo

Tuam, Co. Galway

Ballinrobe, Co. Mayo

Lord Edward Street, Limerick


HSE South 

Dungarvan, Co. Waterford

Carrick on Suir, Co. Tipperary

Waterford City (East)

Wexford Town


HSE Dublin Mid Leinster

Kilcock, Co. Kildare


HSE Dublin North East

Dublin (Inner City / Summerhill)


Online Editors

Promoted Links

Today's news headlines, directly to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Irish News