Monday 11 December 2017

Group of 12 meet 11 times for €186,000

Mark Hilliard

THE RTE board is made up of 12 members and a secretary and its function is to ensure the station fulfils its statutory objectives as a public service broadcaster.

It meets at least 11 times a year. Directors receive board fees and expenses. In 2010, the latest figures available, the board received a total of €186,000, with the chairman, Tom Savage, receiving the highest level of fees at €31,000. Six of the board members are appointed directly by the Communications Minister.

The Oireachtas Joint Committee on Communications, Energy and Natural Resources proposes four other members, while the final two places are taken by the broadcaster's director general and an RTE staff representative.

The current RTE board -- which replaced the RTE Authority under the Broadcasting Act, 2009 -- is in situ until August 2014.

Its members are:

Tom Savage (Chairman) -- current chairman of Communications Clinic, the PR, training and consultancy firm.

Patricia Quinn -- CEO of Irish Nonprofits Knowledge Exchange, a publisher of information on non-profit companies.

Karlin Lillington -- technology correspondent with the 'Irish Times'.

Alan Gilsenan -- film/documentary maker.

Fergus Armstrong -- former chairman of McCann FitzGerald Solicitors.

Sean O'Sullivan -- managing director of Seabrook Research Ltd, a business software company.

Orlaith Carmody -- journalist and communications consultant.

Aileen O'Meara -- former RTE radio journalist.

Eunice O'Raw -- barrister.

Stuart Switzer -- managing director of Coco Television, a production company.

Joe Little -- RTE's staff representative and religious correspondent.

Noel Curran -- RTE director general.

Adrian Moynes (secretary to the RTE Board)

Irish Independent

Promoted Links

Today's news headlines, directly to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Irish News