Tuesday 24 October 2017

'Foinse' readers urged to pick their star Gael

TV presenter Maura Derrane with sponsors Liam O Maolaodha, director of Oireachtas na Gaeilge, and Gala CEO Gary Desmond at yesterday's announcement of details of the 13th Oireachtas Media Awards.

RTE presenter Maura Derrane is calling on fellow 'Foinse' readers to cast their votes for their favourite Irish language media personality in the upcoming Oireachtas Media Awards.

The fluent Irish speaker from the Aran Islands is encouraging all readers of 'Foinse', which is published with the Irish Independent every Wednesday, to vote for the broadcaster, actor or programme maker who they believe has made an outstanding contribution to promoting the Irish language in the media over the past year.

Nominees for the Gala Gael Star of the Year Award include last year's winner Daithi O Se and broadcasters Aoibhinn Ni Shuilleabhain and Sile Seoige. Readers of the Irish Independent will find entry forms in 'Foinse'.

Derrane will present the 13th annual awards at the Meyrick Hotel in Galway on May 27.

Previous winners include comedian Des Bishop, Cathal Mac Coille of 'Morning Ireland' and Eimear Ní Chonaola, who hosted the leaders' TG4 debate in Irish during the general election.

The shortlist of nominees will be announced later his month.

Irish Independent

Editor's Choice

Also in Irish News