Wednesday 13 December 2017

European elections: Leinster split north and south

Fionnan Sheahan

Fionnan Sheahan

The new European elections constituencies sees Leinster split in two and Clare returning to Munster.

The redraw of the European electoral map was required due to the reduction in the number of seats in Ireland from 12 to 11.

The old Ireland East constituency, made up of most of Leinster, is scrapped, with the province split.

The new constituencies are:

- Dublin: A 3-seat ‘Dublin’ constituency comprising the counties of: Dun Laoghaire-Rathdown, Fingal and South Dublin; and the city of Dublin.

- Midlands-North-West: A 4-seat ‘Midlands-North-West’ constituency comprising the counties of: Cavan, Donegal, Galway, Kildare, Laois, Leitrim, Longford, Louth, Mayo, Meath, Monaghan, Offaly, Roscommon, Sligo and Westmeath; and the city of Galway.

- South: A 4-seat ‘South’ constituency comprising the counties of: Carlow, Clare, Cork, Kerry, Kilkenny, Limerick, North Tipperary, South Tipperary, Waterford, Wexford and Wicklow; and the cities of Cork, Limerick and Waterford. 

Online Editors

Promoted Links

Today's news headlines, directly to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Irish News