Saturday 19 October 2019

The final counts: FG's Fayne takes last seat after 118 hours

Sam Griffin

THE last count of the local elections finally ended 118 hours after poll closed.

Fine Gael's Mary Fayne took the eighth and final seat on Dun Laoghaire-Rathdown County Council – the final seat of these elections, excluding next week's re-run of the Monaghan County Council vote.

Ms Fayne eventually saw off the challenge of sitting Labour councillor Jane Dillon Byrne.

Ms Dillon Byrne had ordered a recount after just 18 votes separated the two candidates.

A recheck was then ordered but deputy returning officer Tom McHugh announced "no material difference" had been encountered following the recount and so he proceeded to announce the results, which saw Ms Fayne take the seat.

Irish Independent

Editor's Choice

Also in Irish News