Monday 22 October 2018

Westmeath: First result in – FF win first seat on Westmeath County Council

Fianna Fail's Paul Daly has been elected to Westmeath County Council.

The Kilbeggan man topped the poll in the Mullingar-Kilbeggan local electoral area, exceeding the quota.

Daly's transfers (95) are expected to bring in FF colleague Avril Whitney on the next count after which it is thought Ind candidates Maher and Burley and sitting Cllr Ger Corcoran will be eliminated.

The turnout in this LEA was just over 50%

Here are the results of the First count:

The Electorate was 20001

Total Poll 10009

Spoiled Votes 161

Total Valid Poll 9848

Quota 1407


Arthur, Colm (FG) 596

Burley, Chris (Ind) 162

Clarke, Sorca (SF) 927

Corcoran, Ger (Lab) 295

Cornally, Detty (Lab) 470

Daly, Paul (FF) 1502

Duncan, Andrew (FG) 792

Fagan, Brian (Ind) 584

Glynn, Ken (FF) 974

Maher, Angela (Ind) 141

Murtagh, Chris (FG) 344

Newman, Michael (FG) 471

Penrose, Johnnie (Lab) 943

Sheridan, Gerry (Lab) 381

Whitney, Avril (FF)1266

Online Editors

Editor's Choice

Also in Irish News