Wednesday 21 March 2018

Tipperary electoral area: Updates

Conor Kane

Just two of the five electoral areas in Tipperary had declared count results by 10pm on Saturday night but it’s already clear that Sinn Féin is making a major breakthrough in the county.

First candidate to be formally elected in Tipperary was outgoing Fine Gael councillor in Cashel-Tipperary Michael Fitzgerald, with a mammoth 2,272 first preferences but he was followed minutes later in the Carrick-on-Suir electoral area by Sinn Féin’s David Dunne who got over the line on the second count having secured 1,398 first preferences. He received 31 transfers from the eliminated Labour candidate Michael Cleere and was deemed elected to huge cheers in the count centre at the Presentation Convent in Thurles.

Sinn Féin are also poised to take seats in Cashel-Tipperary through Martin Browne who received 1,399 and is just 154 short of the quota; and also in Nenagh, Thurles-Templemore and possibly Clonmel which had all yet to declare first counts by 10pm.

Labour went into the election with four county council seats across Tipperary but look like taking just one or two in the new merged council.

Online Editors

Today's news headlines, directly to your inbox every morning.

Editor's Choice

Also in Irish News