Tuesday 24 October 2017

Sligo: Independents and Sinn Fein biggest 'vote-getters'

Marese McDonagh

There’s been a lot of surprises in the Sligo constituency, but the success of Fianna Fail may well overshadow the impressive performance of the Independents and Sinn Fein who were the biggest vote getters.

The other talking point has been the collapse in the vote of many longtime Fine Gael councillors while Labour will struggle to return its one  councillor.

As a recount was ordered yesterday in the Ballymote/Tubbercurry electoral area, Fianna Fail were quietly confident of taking four of the eight seats there – with some pundits reckoning that with a bit of luck they could actually take five. The contenders for the party include former TD Eamon Scanlon and former county GAA footballer Paul Taylor.

Sinn Fein will take two seats on the council. The surprise Independent success stories   include Marie Casserly on course to take a seat,  and People Before profit candidate Seamie O’Boyle also very much in the running.Indepenendts Declan Bree and Margaret Gormley as expected topped the poll.

Online Editors

Editor's Choice

Also in Irish News