Saturday 19 October 2019

Sligo: Final result in Sligo electoral area

Marese McDonagh

Tom MacSharry a nephew of former EU commissioner Ray MacSharry has been elected on the 17th count in Sligo electoral area where all 10 seats have now been filled.

Also elected without reaching the quota on the last count were People Before Profit candidate Seamie O’Boyle,  Seamus Kilgannon (FF) and Hubert Keaney (FG).

All  10 seats have now been filled with  Fianna Fail faring best winning   three ,  while Sinn Fein, Fine Gael and Independents won two each and PBP one.

Labour’s only sitting councillor Jim McGarry failed to be re-elected and said that after 29 years in politics, he was bowing out.

The successful candidates in this electoral area were Declan Bree (Ind), Marie Casserly (Ind), Rosaleen O’Grady (FF)Tom MacSharry (FF), Seamus Kilgannon (FF), Sinead Maguire (FG) Hubert Keaney (FG) Sean MacManus (SF) Thomas Healy (SF) and Seamie O’Boyle (PBP).

Online Editors

Editor's Choice

Also in Irish News