Thursday 26 April 2018

Sligo Electoral area: latest updates

The mayoral chain of office is regarded by politicians as a welcome profile booster but that trend is being bucked in Sligo where the Labour mayor of Sligo Marcella McGarry and the outgoing Cathaoirleach of Sligo county council Pat McGrath (FG) both look set to lose their seats.

The mayor, a member of the now defunct Borough Council , ran in the Sligo electoral area this time out for the county council. Complete tallies suggest that  McGrath got a disappointing three per cent of the first preferences in the Ballymote-Tubbercurry electoral area.

A talking point in this area is the phenomenal vote achieve by Independent candidate Margaret Gormley with 2688 votes or 18 pc , according to the tally. Pundits estimate that this will give her 820 above the quota and the transfer of these votes will be crucial with many candidates running neck and neck.

Fianna Fail is bucking the trend here with some suggesting that they will take three and possibly four of the eight seats in Ballymote-Tubbercurry.  The tally suggests that former TD Eamon Scanlon did not poll as well as expected getting seven per cent the same as former Sligo couhty GAA player Paul Taylor. Front runner for the party was martn Baker with 10 per cent, who had to be added to the ticket after failing to get through the convention.

  Independents will take two  seats while Fine Gael will take at least two and will be in a battle for a third seat at the end.

Online Editors

Today's news headlines, directly to your inbox every morning.

Editor's Choice

Also in Irish News