Friday 19 January 2018

Louth electoral area: Latest updates

Elaine Keogh

Final tallies suggest that of the 10 seats in Drogheda Sinn Fein, Labour and Fianna Fail will each take 2 seats, Fine Gael should take 3 and there will be one Independent seat.

The successful candidates to be, in alphabetical order: Paul Bell (Lab), Tommy Byrne (FF), Kevin Callan (FG), Alan Cassidy (SF), Richie Culhane (FG), Frank Godfrey (Ind), Frank Maher (FF), Imelda Munster (SF), Pio Smith (Lab) and Oliver Tully (FG).

In Dundalk South, Sinn Fein are expected to take 3 of the 7 seats.  Fianna Fail and Fine Gael will take one seat each as will the Greens and there will be one Independent seat.

Those expected to make the quota, based on tallies, will be, in order of first preference votes, Tomas Sharkey (SF), Declan Breathnach (FF), Meave Yore (Ind), Kevin Meenan (SF), Jennifer Green (SF), Marianne Butler (Green) and Maria Doyle (FG).

In Ardee, Sinn Fein should take 2 of the 6 seats.  Fine Gael will have 2, Fianna Fail will have 1 and the last seat should go to Independent Hugh Conlon.  They should meet the quota in this order: Pearse McGeough (SF), Colm Markey (FG), Tom Cunningham (SF), Liam Reilly (FF) and Jim Lennon (FG) and Hugh Conlon (Ind).

In the 6 seater Dundalk-Carlingford, Sinn Fein should secure 3 seats, Fianna Fail 2 seats, Fine Gael 1 seat  but Mark Dearey of the Greens is not far behind in 7th position.

Based on the tallies those elected should be in alphabetical order: Edel Corrigan (SF), Conor Keelan (FF), Jim Loughran (SF), John McGahon (FG), JJ Quigley (SF) and Peter Savage (FF).

This would leave the new council consisting of: 10 Sinn Fein, 2 Labour, 6 Fianna Fail, 7 Fine Gael, 1 Green, 3 Independent.


Online Editors

Promoted Links

Today's news headlines, directly to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Irish News