Monday 19 March 2018

Limerick Count: Update


COUNTING of votes in Limerick has been suspended for the night with just 10 out of the 40 seats filled on the new local authority.

All seven seats have been filled in the Cappamore-Kimallock electoral area - the only one of six electoral areas in Limerick where count has concluded.

Independent candidate Brigid Teefy topped the poll in this area where Fine Gael secured two seats, and Fianna Fáil secured three.

Sinn Fein's Lisa Marie Sheehy (20) won the first seat for her party in County Limerick in almost 100 years after being elected in the first count.

Elsewhere, Sinn Fein's Maurice Quinlivan was elected in Limerick City North while Seighin O'Ceallaigh (22) also of Sinn Fein and Shane Clifford of Fianna Fáil were both elected in Limerick City East.

Counting will resume tomorrow morning.

Online Editors

Today's news headlines, directly to your inbox every morning.

Editor's Choice

Also in Irish News