Saturday 7 December 2019

Leitrim: Final distribution of seats sees FG biggest loser

Donal O'Grady

Fine Gael was the biggest loser in Leitrim with five sitting councillors losing their seats in a reduced council of 18.

The number of Independents doubled in the county from two to four as did the number of Sinn Fein councillors, also from two to four. That party's candidate in the Carrick-on-Shannon LEA, Seadhna Logan from Mohill secured their first seat in that area since 1920.

They also added Brendan Barry and sitting councillor Martin Kenny in the Ballinamore LEA, and Padraig Fallon topped the poll in the Manorhamilton LEA. Independents also made significant gains at the expense of Fine Gael with Enda Stenson and Des Guckian elected in Carrick-on-Shannon, Gerry Dolan in Ballinamore and Felim Gurn in Manorhamilton.

The final seat distribution is:

FG 4, FF 6, SF 4, Ind 4.

Online Editors

Editor's Choice

Also in Irish News