Tuesday 24 October 2017

Leitrim Electoral area – latest updates

Donal O'Grady

Tallies in for two of the three Electoral Areas in County Leitrim.

Early indications are that Sinn Fein will take a seat in the Ballinamore LEA at the expense of Fine Gael or Independent. 

Sitting FF Councillor Paddy O'Rourke topped the poll with 943 votes. Cllr Caillian Ellis (FF) is next on 807 followed by Cllr Martin Kenny (SF) on 724. Sitting councillor John McCartin polled 710 votes and new Sinn Fein candidate Brendan Barry polled strongly with 678 votes. Fine Gael councillor Gordon Hughes is in 6th place on 632.  However there is a battle between two sitting councillors in the Drumshanbo area, Gerry Dolan (IND) and Enda McGloin (FG) who both polled 570 votes.  Whoever stays ahead in that race could push the other over the line.

In the Carrick-on-Shannon LEA, there has been a strong vote for Independent candidates and the possibility of Sinn Fein winning a surprise seat.

Sitting councillor, Enda Stenson tops the poll with 858 votes followed by Cllr Sean McGowan (FF) on 684.  Sinn Fein's first time candidate Seadhna Logan is third on 671.  Des Guckian (IND) is in fourth on 668 votes and looks likely to claim one of the six seats available.  Where the last two seats go is still unknown with three Fine Gael and two Fianna Fail candidates in the running.  Cllr Sinead Guckian (FF) got 601 votes, Siobhan Finnegan-McElgunn (FF) 535, Finola Armstrong-McGuire (FG) 514, Cllr Thomas Mulligan (FG) 498 and Cllr John Ward (FG) 392.  Where Ward's votes go will be the key.  Party politics and geography come into play.  We will know more later.

Online Editors

Editor's Choice

Also in Irish News