Thursday 22 February 2018

Kildare: O'Rourke (FF) first and only candidate elected in Celbridge district

Frank O’Rourke (FF) is the first and only candidate to be elected in the Celbridge District.

Mr. O’Rourke exceeded the quota by more than 300. Independent Anthony Larkin was second and is only 40 votes away from the quota of 1481.

There are 17 candidates in this seven-seater, and it’s likely that Sinn Fein’s Ide Cussen will be third or fourth over the line depending on transfers. Independent Bernard Caldwell and Labour’s Kevin Byrne should be fine.

The final seat will probably be between Labour’s Colm Purcell and Fine Gael’s Joe Neville - although with more than a dozen counts expected, it’s all a guessing game.

Online Editors

Promoted Links

Today's news headlines, directly to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Irish News