Monday 16 December 2019

Kerry electoral area: Fine Gael TD Brendan Griffin's replacement fails to be elected

Majella O'Sullivan

Majella O'Sullivan

FINE Gael TD Brendan Griffin's replacement on Kerry County Council has failed to be elected.

Matt Griffin, a cousin of the Kerry South deputy was eliminated after the fifth count on 757 votes, way short of the 2080 quota.

His elimination pushed two other candidates past the line and Fianna Fail's Michael O'Shea was returned having exceeded the 2080 quota with 2278 votes.

Newcomer and Kenmare mart manager, Dan McCarthy (Ind) was also deemed elected exceeding the quota by one vote.

In Killarney the first of the eight available seats were taken on the first count by two independents, Danny Healy-Rae and Brendan Cronin, and Michael Gleeson for the South Kerry Independent Alliance.

Fine Gael's Bobby O'Connell and John Sheahan were poised to be returned, with Independent Donal Grady set to take another seat followed by Niall Kelleher (FF).

There was another loss for Labour with its only candidate Sean Counihan fighting for a last seat with John Buckley (SF).

Online Editors

Editor's Choice

Also in Irish News