Tuesday 16 January 2018

Galway county electoral area: updates

Declan Rooney

A strong independent vote was visible in Galway County with two of the five councillors elected marching under the non-party banner.

In Ballinasloe the headline grabber was Tim Broderick (Ind) who topped the poll and was elected to Galway County Council on the first count with an impressive 3,275 votes – the quota was just 1,679 votes.

There was also good news for Sinn Fein's Dermot Connolly in the east Galway town. Connolly, a sitting councillor, was also elected in the first count with a total of 2,059, while his namesake Michael Connolly (FF) picked up the third seat in the district after the second count with a 1,800 total.

According to Broderick, the sizeable non-government party vote in the area should be a message to the ruling parties of how unhappy people are at the axing of psychiatric beds at St Brigid's Hospital in the town.

“I cannot say it often enough, how important the 22 acute beds in St Brigid's Hospital are to Ballinasloe until this vision for change and enhancement is provided.

“I want the government to listen, 8,300 non-government party votes were cast in the Ballinasloe electoral area. That's nearly 78 percent of the vote that went against them. That's a clear message,” said Cllr Broderick.

In the Athenry/Oranmore district, Fine Gael Cllr Peter Feeney was the first elected after the third count with 1,649 votes.

He was joined by sitting Independent Cllr Jim Cuddy after the fifth count with a total of 1,603 votes, while first-timer James Charity (Ind) and Malachy Noone (FF) were also perfectly placed to take a seats.

Outgoing Fine Gael Mayor of Co Galway, Liam Carroll was facing a battle with newcomer and stable mate Frank Kearney for one of the final seven seats in the area, while Fine Fail's Cathal Moran and Martina Kinane also polled well.

Online Editors

Promoted Links

Today's news headlines, directly to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Irish News