Tuesday 12 December 2017

Fingal: SF, Independents and Anti-Austerity Alliance winners in Fingal

Cormac Murphy

SINN Fein, Independents and the Anti-Austerity Alliance all made significant gains in Fingal.

Labour, on the other hand, suffered losses, though its candidate Ken Farrell in Balbriggan bucked the trend by topping the poll.

Cian O’Callaghan, a former Labour councillor, came out in front in Howth/Malahide as an Independent.

Fine Gael will consider one councillor from four candidates in Balbriggan a poor return, particularly considering it’s Health Minister James Reilly’s constituency.

Annette Hughes of the Anti-Austerity Alliance (AAA) and Sinn Fein’s Edmond Lukusa were among the eye-catching results.

In Transport Minister Leo Varadkar’s electoral area Castleknock/Balbriggan, his party colleagues Ted Leddy and Eithne Loftus won seats.

Online Editors

Promoted Links

Today's news headlines, directly to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Irish News